1830 N Dinuba Blvd, Visalia, CA 93291
(888) 776-9998 | Alt: email@example.com | Website
Hours/Length: 240 Clock Hours/6 Weeks
Daily Schedule: Mon – Fri; 7 – 3:30pm
Pre-requisites: Must have High School Diploma or Equivalent or must pass an approved Ability to Benefit test.
Must be able to read, write, and comprehend English.
Be at least 21 years of age.
Must have a good driving record and provide a current DMV H6 printout.
Must have a valid driver’s license for at least one year and possess a California DL card.
Must have a social security card (cannot be laminated)
Must be able to show proof of U.S citizenship, lawful permanent residency, or legal presence and proof of CA residency.
Must pass a Department of Transportation physical exam & a drug test. Driving & Criminal record requirements:
No more than (2) points in the past (3) years.
No DUI/DWI or reckless driving conviction in the past (5) years.
No more than (1) at fault accident in the past (24) months.
No license suspensions within the last (24) months.
No felony convictions in the past five (5) years.
This program prepares students to work in the transportation industry by gaining the knowledge and skills necessary to pass the state and federal tests required to become a licensed California Class A truck and trailer driver. Students will meet all standards as laid out by the rules and regulations of the Department of Transportation pertaining to truck driving. Students will learn to read and interpret control systems, vehicle inspections, exercise basic control, execute shifting, back and dock tractor trailer, couple and uncouple tractor trailers, manage and adjust vehicle speed and space relations, diagnose and report malfunctions, identify potential driving hazards and able to perform emergency maneuvers, identify adverse driving conditions, handle and document cargo, accident and reporting procedures, trip planning, hours of service training, manage personal resources and dealing with life on the road. The program includes forklift certification training. California Commercial License Requirements: California Department of Motor Vehicles requirements for Commercial License as stated in the California Commercial Driver Handbook 2017-2018: Must be 18 years of age. May apply for a CLP, but must hold a California DL prior to issuance of a CLP. The DL must be carried to validate the CLP. May drive for hire within California if you are 18 years of age or older and do not engage in interstate commerce activities. Must be at least 21 years old to drive a commercial vehicle engaged in interstate commerce or to transport hazardous materials or wastes (intrastate or interstate commerce).
Truck Driving Refresher Policy The refresher session will be provided to graduates of the Truck Driving program who were unable to pass the official CDL tests at the Department of Motor Vehicles the first time for reasons beyond their control. William M. Maguy School will provide these services to past graduates at no additional charge; however, services will be scheduled at the discretion of the Chief Academic Officer, and the availability of the equipment and instructor will be considered. WMSE will provide the refresher service on an “as-necessary” basis. The refresher session will be provided to graduates at the discretion of the Chief Academic Officer for a period not to exceed three months after graduation. The graduate must participate in the arranged refresher sessions to ensure they are well prepared for future testing. Failure to attend a pre-arranged refresher session may result in termination of services.